May Sanity Be With You

It’s been a busy month term year week . So many wonderful things have happened, with so many more yet to happen, that it’s hard combining them with deadlines. Of which there are many!

IMG_1860One major thing is the magazine I created for my course is finally printed! Shelf Magazine will be available to anyone interested in what I actually do for my degree. It’s been a long time coming, something I’ve been working on since November 2015. With many ups and downs, and many many many late nights, it’s worth all the effort I put into it with the rest of the team.

We wanted to create a literary resource for writers who are just starting out and want to get their work out there. The first issue was themed Monsters and Men, a nod to Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. For a submission prompt, we had the last line of the novel to inspire any potential writers to write their own poetry and short stories, as long as they ended on the same line: ‘He was soon borne away by the waves and lost in darkness and distance.’

It ended up being a huge success with dozens of submissions coming in! Most of them are featured on the website (here), but we have also placed three submissions in the print issue, which will be posted online within the next couple days!
As for myself, I’ve been doing a lot of poetry, so what else is new? I’ve been performing at Hammer and Tongue in Bristol, Rhyme and Reason in Bath, and I’ve had to write more poetry for deadlines. But, as a part of my Independent Project, I’ve been an Editor for Loe&Behold, the online poetry resource (here) and I’ve been posting my poetry so that you can look at the poems I’ve performed and written.

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 12.17.09What’s even cooler is that the creator of the site has reviewed me as a performance poet. My first review. It’s very exciting. She also added the video of my headline slot from Rhyme and Reason in March and was generally very lovely! Read it here!

That’s kind of all that’s going on in my life right now. I have some more posts lined up to upload until all of my deadlines are over. Let’s hope my essays won’t send me into a crash of not being able to write.

Until next time,

Eliza

Leave a Reply

