Submissions are exciting!

In January 2016 I submitted a short story of mine, originally written in first year, to a zine that was starting up. It was an open-call for submissions and I decided to give it a shot and try to get my work published.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 18.50.14
From @rarited: https://goo.gl/eOBsEy

So I sent them an email clarifying the kind of material they were hoping for, to make sure I didn’t get my hopes up for a magazine that was looking for something completely different than what I’m used to writing. They were very forthcoming about the kind of stuff they were looking for and it was right up my street.

I did a bit of research and it turned out that the editor of the magazine was a 19 year old student, just like me. This would be a great opportunity to get my work publishing for the first time, make my name a little more well-known in the industry. You do have to start somewhere and a six-page spread for my short story isn’t too shabby for a first publication.

I’m really excited to see my story in print because it will be the first thing I can put on my wall and prove to everyone (also to myself) that all the writing I’m doing is not for nothing. It will be incredibly rewarding to see all the hours I spent on that short story to have it be the first piece of fiction I have published.

The story I wrote and submitted is called ‘Bright Pink Hair’ and I originally got the idea for it online. A couple of year ago there was a tumblr post going around saying ‘Imagine an alternate universe where everything is black and white until you meet your soulmate’.  I thought that was a really interesting idea. Other people had written their versions of the prompt, but I felt like I had an original spin that I wanted to express.

With the help of some of my writerly friends, I spruced the idea up and it was ready to be submitted to publications (after I got the results back from my writing portfolio, of course!). Whenever I read it back, I still remember looking at that word document with only 3 introductory paragraphs and the very last line on it and marvel at how far I’ve come as a writer.

I’ll keep you posted with updates on how the story looks when it’s published in print, so keep checking the blog and my twitter! To find out more about the magazine I will be published in or its publisher, check the #AsAlwaysUnknown hashtag and @rarited on Twitter and any other social mediums.

L.E.

Leave a Reply

